Discipline Information

CLUBS PLEASE DISCUSS THE FOLLOWING WITH YOUR TEAM OFFICIALS AND PLAYERS TO ENSURE THEY ARE AWARE OF DISCIPLINE PROCEDURES:

All Discipline will be conducted by Discipline by Review (DBR), where permitted under Ontario Soccer Policies. Persons charged have the right to request a Discipline by Hearing (DBH).  Please see below for particulars.

As per Ontario Soccer Policy 5.4.2, EMSA publishes the dates on which it holds hearings.  A list of published dates for the current season is below.   

DISCIPLINE BY REVIEW SYSTEM (DBR):

  • All misconducts will be dealt with by Discipline by Review, where permitted under Ontario Soccer Policies.

  • The Discipline Committee will review all misconduct reports based on the match official report only and render a decision without a formal hearing. EMSA will issue an email to the Club stating game suspensions and non-refundable red card fee will be added to the Club’s monthly invoice.

  • The Accused has the right to Request a Hearing in writing within three (3) days of receiving the dismissal except in cases of Ontario Soccer Misconduct Type 1.3, 1.5, 1.6 1.13, 1.14 and 1.14A.  The Request for Discipline Hearing Fee of $100.00 must be submitted at the time of request. If found not guilty, the fee will be refunded.

  • Discipline decisions made under the Discipline by Review System may not be appealed. 

DISCIPLINE BY HEARING SYSTEM (DBH):

  • If the Discipline Review Panel determines that a Hearing is required, the Panel will issue a “Notice of Hearing” and the accused or his/her designated representative (with a signed proxy signed by the accused) must appear before the Discipline Hearing Panel at the date and time set out in the Notice.

  •  DISCIPLINE BY HEARING decisions may be appealed (please see Rights of Appeal Information tab)

  • Failure to appear on the scheduled hearing date will result in the accused being suspended from all soccer activity until a Request for Hearing is made to EMSA in writing and the subsequent hearing is attended.

RIGHTS OF THE ACCUSED:

  • The accused has the right to receive, within 48 hours upon submitting a written request to the organization, a copy of the Report(s) of Misconduct and all documentation which will be considered by the Discipline Hearing Panel.
  • 5.4.5 any party required to attend a hearing may request one (1) postponement of a hearing. The party must submit a written request that must be received by the Governing Organization no later than four (4) days prior to the date of that hearing, stating the reason for requesting the postponement. All such requests must be accompanied by the correct fee in the form of a recorded payment. Should the request be denied, the fee shall be refunded. The Governing Organization shall have full discretion to refund the “Request for Postponement Fee" if sufficient reason warrants such action.
  • 5.6.1 The accused individual or Governing Organization or their representative must attend a hearing.Anyone representing an accused must provide a signed proxy from the accused before being allowed to participate at a hearing.
  • 5.6.3 An accused less than eighteen years of age must be accompanied by an adult, who shall act as an adviser, failing which the hearing will not proceed and the accused shall be suspended until the hearing is held.
  • 5.6.4 If the accused does not appear, the hearing will not proceed, the accused will be fined in accordance with the “Schedule of Fees, Fines, Bonds and Penalties” as published by the Governing Organization, and the accused will be suspended from all soccer related activities until he/she requests and attends a hearing.
  • 5.5 Pleading Guilty. An accused party may plead guilty and forego a hearing. Written notification of such must be received by the Governing Organization no later than four days prior to the date of the hearing. In doing so, the accused party accepts the maximum penalty applicable to the O.S.A. Misconduct Type charged. The appropriate administrative fee will be levied. The accused party may not appeal a decision rendered by the Discipline Hearing Panel once the guilty plea has been entered,unless the penalty assessed is not within the standard range in accordance with the Published Rules
  • 5.7.4.1 Each party required to attend a Discipline Hearing as well as the Governing Organization hearing the case, is entitled to bring witnesses. Witnesses must appear in person. Written reports by witnesses are not acceptable.
  • 5.7.4.2 There is no limit to the number of witnesses allowed, but they must add new testimony and the Discipline Hearing Panel can restrict the testimony of witnesses if the testimony given becomes repetitious.
2024 EMSA Discipline Scheduled Hearing Nights
 Wednesday   January 10
 Wednesday January 24
 Thursday January 25
 Wednesday February 7
 Wednesday February 21
 Thursday February 22
 Wednesday March 6
 Wednesday March 20
Thursday March 21
 Wednesday April 10
Wednesday April 24
Thursday April 25
Wednesday May 8
 Wednesday May 22
Thursday  May 23
Wednesday June 5
Wednesday June 19
Thursday  June 20
 Wednesday July 3
Wednesday July 24
Thursday  July 25
Wednesday August 14
Wednesday August 28
Thursday August 29
 Wednesday September 4
Wednesday September 11
Wednesday  September 18
Thursday  September 19
Wednesday October 9
Wednesday October 23
Wednesday November 6
Wednesday November 20
Thursday November 21
 Wednesday December 4
Wednesday December 18

For a complete copy of Ontario Soccer's Discipline Policies, Procedures and Mandatory Penalties please see 
Ontario Soccer, Governing Documents

Any questions regarding EMSA Discipline matters can be directed to discipline@emsadistrict.com